Your browser is not supported

Your browser is too old and may not have the proper accessibility tools to use this website properly, please use Chrome or Firefox.

APUO Executive Election results

Dear APUO members,

Following the elections held at the Annual General Meeting yesterday, Thursday April 27, 2017, the Nominations and Elections Committee (NEC) announces the results for each Executive Committee position.

First Vice-President

    • Jean-Daniel JACOB       149 votes (72%) Elected
    • Cristina PERISSINOTTO  57 votes (28%)

Second Vice-President

    • Raywat DEONANDAN     80 votes (41%)
    • Dimitrios KARMIS          115 votes (59%) Elected


    • Tyler CHAMBERLIN        65 votes (35%)
    • Jeanette HATHERILL    120 votes (65%) Elected

Mobilization Officer

    • Daniel PARÉ, Elected by acclamation

Equity Officer

    • Amir ATTARAN            43 votes (23%)
    • Kathryn TREVENEN   147 votes (77%) Elected

Academic Officer

    • Dalie GIROUX            109 votes (66%) Elected
    • Naomi GOLDENBERG   56 votes (34%)


    • Cheryl McWATTERS     42 votes (28%)
    • Colin MONTPETIT      110 votes (72%) Elected

The mandate of the newly elected officers will begin on July 1, 2017, the date at which the current President, Jennifer DEKKER, will begin her mandate as Past-President. The NEC thanks all candidates for their participation in the APUO’s electoral process. A Special General Meeting will be announced in the next few days in order to present additions and clarifications to the Constitution and By-Laws in relation to the upcoming APUO (Co-)Presidency (Richard BLUTE and Susan SPRONK). The NEC emphasizes the importance of giving full and complete support to the new APUO team that will begin their demanding work on July 1, 2017, especially in the context of a bargaining year (the Collective Agreement expires on April 30, 2018).

The Nominations and Elections Committee