

Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committee

Under the provisions of the <u>Ontario Occupational Health and Safety Act</u> (OHSA), workers and employers must share the responsibility for occupational health and safety. The Act sets up an internal responsibility system that involves everyone, from individual employees to the institution's upper management.

The Act provides for the establishment of a joint health and safety committee, composed of people who represent the employees and the employer. Together, they are committed to improving health and safety conditions in the workplace.

The committee is an advisory body that helps recognize workplace risks and then recommends solutions, and helps stimulate awareness of occupational health and safety issues.

The University Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committee (UJOHSC) includes representation from the five Functional Occupational Health and Safety Committee (FOHSC), which are:

- The Office Health and Safety Committee
- The Laboratory Health and Safety Committee
- The Protection and Facilities Health and Safety Committee
- The Alta Vista Health and Safety Committee
- The Psychological Health and Safety Committee

For more information about the UJOHSC and the five FOHSCs, please see their <u>Terms</u> <u>of Reference</u>. For more information on the full membership of these committees, <u>consult</u> <u>uOttawa's website</u>.

Committee members:

University Joint Occupational Health and Safety Committee Two members appointed by the APUO

Steven Bittle (Department of Criminology) End of term: June 30, 2024

Christine Guptill (School of Rehabilitation Sciences) End of term: June 30, 2024



Association des Professeur.e.s de l'Université d'Ottawa Association of Professors of the University of Ottawa

Office Functional Occupational Health and Safety Committee Three members appointed by the APUO

Sophie Rietti (Department of Philosophy) End of term: June 30, 2025

Mawy Bouchard (Département de français) End of term: June 30, 2025

Vacant position End of term:

Laboratory Functional Occupational Health and Safety Committee Three members appointed by the APUO

Louis Trudel (Faculty of Education) End of term: June 30, 2024

Vacant position End of term:

Vacant position End of term:

Protection and Facilities Functional Occupational Health and Safety Committee One member appointed by the APUO

Heather Morrison (School of Information Studies) End of term: June 30, 2025

Alta Vista Functional Occupational Health and Safety Committee Two members appointed by the APUO

Christine Guptill (School of Rehabilitation Sciences) End of term: June 30, 2024

Vacant position End of term:

<u>Psychological Functional Occupational Health and Safety Committee</u> One member appointed by the APUO

Jennifer Dekker (Library) End of term: June 30, 2024